Name: HIGHLANDS PARK FC                                                                      

Nickname: ‘Lions of the North’

Club colours: Red

Home Venue: Makhulong Stadium

Formed: 2003  (1959 & 1990)

Head Coach: Owen da Gama


Highlands Park F.C. originally existed from November 1959 to February 1983. In 1971, Highlands Park FC merged with Powerlines FC from Nigel also playing in the top flight NFL. But after playing only two seasons with the name Highlands Power FC in 1971-72, the club decided to change back its name to the more well-known Highlands Park FC in 1973. Ahead of the 1979 season, the club signed a five year sponsor deal with Dion. The club name was changed to Dion Highlands FC in 1979. In February 1980 the official name was changed to Dion FC. The club was referred to as "Dion Highlands FC" from 1981 to February 1983.

The club played its last official professional match at 12 February 1983, where the club lost the final of the BP Top Eight Cup 0-2 to Orlando Pirates. Ahead of the 1983-season, the club's league franchise for NPSL, was purchased by Jomo Sono. The new club name became Dion Cosmos, which ahead of the 1984-season was renamed to Jomo Cosmos.

In 1990 a newly formed professional team with the name Highlands Park FC, was created and, were promoted to play in the 1991 National Soccer League, where the club finished at a respectable 9th place. NSL team Port Elizabeth Blackpool purchased the franchise after their own relegation in the same season.

The team ceased to exist in 1991, as the clubs sponsor did not want to prolong their relationaship. The new owners created a new club Welkom Eagles, to play in Welkom and replaced "Highlands Park FC" in the National Soccer League in 1993. As the city Welkom is located 267 km from Johannesburg, the new owners only had interest to buy the clubs league license and professional players, while the junior teams and senior amateur teams were not a part of the deal.

In 2000 Highlands Park created a collaboration between themselves and Silver Stars, Silver Stars were renamed to "HP Silver Stars", while the Highlands Park junior team for a couple of years worked as the nursery team for the club. 

In 2003 the club managed to create a second semi-professional Phoenix Club with the name Highlands Park FC. During the first four seasons, the reborn "Highlands Park FC" competed in the fourth tier of the South African football league, known as SAFA Regional League.

1960  Winner of the NFL  

1961  Winner of the NFL Cup

1962  Winner of the NFL

1964  Winner of the NFL

1965  Winner of the NFL and NFL Cup

1966  Winner of the NFL and NFL Cup

1967  Winner of the NFL Cup

1968  Winner of the NFL

1973  Winner of the NFL Cup

1975  Winner of the NFL and NFL Cup

1977  Winner of the NFL

1980  Winner of NPSL

1983  Lost 0 - 2 to in BP top 8 final to Orlando Pirates

2004 – 2007  Played in the SAFA Regional League

2007  Promotion to the Vodacom League

2008  3rd in Vodacom League

2009  8th in Vodacom League

2010  6th in Vodacom League

2010/11  Winners of Gauteng Vodacom League. Finished bottom of Inland Group.

2013/14  Winners of Gauteng Vodacom League. Winners of Group A in the SAFA National Playoffs. Lost to CT All Stars 0 – 0 (4 – 5 Pen), but promoted to the NFD as Group winners.

2014/15  11th in the NFD.

2015/16  2nd in the NFD and qualified for the Promotional Playoffs which they won to earn promotion to the PSL. Beat Milano 4 – 3 in the preliminary round of the Nedbank Cup, but lost 0 – 1 AET to Mamelodi Sundowns in round one.

2016/17  16th in the ABSA Premiership and relegated to the NFD. Lost 0 – 2 to Free State stars in Round 1 of the Nedbank Cup.